Here goes nothing…

Hi, my name is Jannae Bridgeman. I am a math and science teacher. I have taught overseas and in several schools in Saskatchewan, but Scott Collegiate High School in Regina has been my home since 2008. Although it has its challenges, as does every high school, I love teaching there. This is my 10th year teaching! I actually cannot believe that. Time sure flies. Since I had a baby in December, I am currently on maternity leave with my little girl (and my toddler) for the year.

I started the Master’s program in Curriculum and Instruction at U of R last January and this will be my 6th class. I have learned so much since starting the program, not only about education and instruction, but about myself as well. I am looking forward to this class, although I am quite nervous as I don’t have much of a technology or social media background.

In my classroom, I have found using technology to be a bit frustrating more often than not. First of all, booking the computers can be a bit of a struggle as there are only so many. It takes a ridiculous amount of time for students to log on and get started. Many of my students also take the opportunity of computer time to be on Facebook and Twitter non-stop and not to complete their assignment. This can add to the the length of class time (and my frustration level!) I need to give for students to complete their assignment. Many of my students don’t have technology available to them at home so doing it for homework isn’t always an option.

I have Facebook and Twitter accounts, but I haven’t really used them. There are several reasons for this. I have a bit of a fear of putting myself out there for the world to see or read about. I’m not an overly private person, but the idea of people reading about my personal thoughts and viewing my life kinda scares me. I also found that the amount of time I spent on these sites was ridiculous. I felt I needed to spend that time doing other, maybe not more important, but other things. I also think that no one really cares whether I’m out for coffee or in the midst of writing a paper. I definitely have never considered writing a blog. Do I really have something so important to say that others would want to read about it?

So, why should I hop on this technological bandwagon of blogging?? It is probably about time I become 21st century literate and get with the times! From the readings Alec Couros put up about why teachers and students should blog, here’s my summary of the most important and relevant points to me:

  • great professional development – I have always considered myself to be a very reflective teacher and I can see how blogging takes that to the next level. There is also probably no better PD than talking with other teachers about their ideas and practices in the classroom. Blogging gives you an opportunity to do that on a daily basis.
  • creates a library of useful links, articles, ideas, activities, etc. – It would be very helpful to have all of these in one place that is easily searchable.
  • empowers students and develops lifelong learners – I think that ultimately this is the goal teachers have for their students
  • students can teach and learn from each other
  • students can establish their digital footprint in a positive and safe way and teachers can model how to do this.

I am starting this blog as an assignment for my master’s class, however, I hope the articles I’ve read are true about blogging  and it is a positive experience and one that I get a lot out of. If so, perhaps I’ll continue to blog as I am always striving to be the best teacher I can be.

I’m very nervous to post this, but I guess I can’t delay forever! Here goes nothing…

Leave a Reply

