Wash This!

To date I’ve learned the chain stitch, single crochet stitch, and half double crochet stitch. I have made a coaster and a cup koozie. I quite enjoy crocheting once I figure out a stitch and get going. I actually get kind of addicted to it and find it hard to put down. I think I am improving and getting faster at it.

For my next project I thought I should try reading a pattern to make a dishcloth. Through Pinterest I found a pattern that claimed to be easy and for beginners. A pattern abbreviates the stitches:

CH – Chain
HDC – Half Double Crochet
SC – Single Crochet

This pattern used all these stitches. I had to use a different hook than I had been — a J hook. The J hook is quite a bit bigger than the H hook that I was used to. It took some adjustment, but once I became accustomed to it, I think I like it better. The pattern called for cotton yarn. I was at my in-laws farm and only had the acrylic yarn that I originally purchased.  I didn’t want to wait till we returned to the city to get started on this so I just went with the yarn I had. I promise I’ll get some new yarn soon so I’ll my projects won’t be hot pink! I’m not sure I could actually use this as a dishcloth and put it in water, but I thought the practice would do me good.

The pattern was laid out well. It first listed the materials I would need. Then it explained the abbreviations, and finally it got into the pattern instructions. The pattern explains what to do by rows. This pattern is pretty basic so the first part wasn’t difficult to understand or do. The chain stitch, the foundation of every project (or at least all the ones I’ve done so far), doesn’t count as row 1. It is included in the instructions so that you know how big to make your project. Rows 2 – 20 were all the same, the half double crochet stitch. I was good up until this point. Then came the edging instructions. Here’s where I got lost. The edging called for a single crochet stitch all around the outside of the dishcloth. This was easy to do on the first side, but after that I really had no idea. The sides of the cloth don’t look anything like the edge I was used to working on. I didn’t really know where to insert the hook and make my stitches. I decided just to go for it. Sometimes you need to learn by trial and error.

The site where I got the pattern from tried to explain the edging because she too, had no clue how to crochet into the sides of the half double crochet stitch. She had a way to mark it with yarn, but I didn’t understand. I will have to do a bit more research and reach out to my PLN for help. The edging also ended with a slip stitch, which I thought was the way I had ended my other projects, but it didn’t look right . I will need to learn that stitch too to finish this dishcloth properly.

wool dishcloth

All in all, it didn’t turn out too badly, but there is definitely room for improvement. Learn from your mistakes, try try again, practice makes perfect. I’ll just keep repeating these in my head to keep myself from getting discouraged! I wonder if students get sick of hearing these phrases when they are trying to learn a new skill or concept.

This was a pretty simple pattern so I didn’t have trouble following it. Other ones I have seen look like greek to me. I guess it was at my level and as I improve I’m hoping the other patterns won’t appear so daunting. I came across this site for understanding patterns. I think it will be quite helpful in the future. So far prefer to learn from YouTube videos, especially when learning a completely new stitch, although it does have its limitations.

One thought on “Wash This!

Leave a Reply

